Diiii-nner! (Meg)

Such a big part of my oh-so-domestic life revolves around food that I’ve decided weight gain is an occupational hazard for me.   Much of my time is spent trying to figure out what to cook that’s healthy, not too pricey, and that three out of four Hunters will eat (I don’t have time to care what dentists think about it).  Sometimes I win, and sometimes I lose, but as the years go by I more consistently rack up wins than losses.  An interesting solution I tried recently was the October Real Simple magazine’s Month of Easy Dinners.  Once a week I printed out the shopping list and went to the grocery store (such a treat to only go once a week–with out a plan I often end up going everyday) and five nights a week I had a dinner ready to cook that didn’t repeat too often, was fairly healthy, and if someone whined “I hate that”, it was the magazine they hated, not me!  Our family doesn’t eat at home on average two nights a week because of activities so five recipes per week was perfect.   I also did have to plan for lunches and breakfasts, but now that Mettlin is driving she’s the one to run to the store for another gallon of milk if I mess up.  There were four real keepers for my family–recipes I’ve added to the family favorites–and not having to think every day about what we were going to eat that night was worth triple the price of the magazine.  But check it out–it’s available for free  at http://www.realsimple.com/food-recipes/recipe-collections-favorites/quick-easy/month-easy-dinners-00000000020770/index.html And our most favorite recipe is Ravioli with Apples and Walnuts, available at http://www.realsimple.com/food-recipes/browse-all-recipes/ravioli-apples-walnuts-recipe-00000000020572/index.html

This entry was posted in family, food. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

