i am love (hill)

JOURNEY HOME

The time that my journey takes is long and the way of it long.

I came out on the chariot of the first gleam of light, and pursued my
voyage through the wildernesses of worlds leaving my track on many a star and planet.

It is the most distant course that comes nearest to thyself,
and that training is the most intricate which leads to the utter simplicity of a tune.

The traveler has to knock at every alien door to come to his own,
and one has to wander through all the outer worlds to reach the innermost shrine at the end.

My eyes strayed far and wide before I shut them and said `Here art thou!’

The question and the cry `Oh, where?’ melt into tears of a thousand
streams and deluge the world with the flood of the assurance `I am!’

~ Rabindranath Tagore

so while i have been venturing about here and there and everywhere — travelling; holed up in my house; starting a business; stopping a business; meditating; on the kitchen floor; india x3; etc etc etc — i have much more of a sense of my inner Self. and along the way i rediscovered photography, my lifetime love that i abandoned 13 years ago when i left my job as a photojournalist and when my dad married a photographer. i didn’t want to compete anymore … with other photojournalists, nor with my stepmother. so i stopped. this summer i started again, working on a film set in france and spain, and am officially in love again. happy valentine’s day!

About hillarah

my dad gave me my first camera in high school, a sturdy black minolta. i found my gift, my voice, my way to be with the world. after journalism school, i swashbuckled as a photojournalist for over a decade. moved home to norcal to be near family and started a boutique stock photography agency, see jane run. life had other plans. my camera lived mostly in the closet for nine years. last summer working on a film in france and spain, my camera became my friend again. and now, it's like rekindling a long-lost love. now with more wisdom, more freedom. pure joy.
This entry was posted in love, photography, spirituality. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

