i am your valentine (hill)

i think st francis of assisi’s prayer is especially meaningful today, valentine’s day. especially the part about loving rather than being loved. we often think we want/need to be loved, admired, heard, understood, etc. and we expect others to “give” these things to us, and we are disappointed when they don’t. we don’t always leave people free to do or not do these things, and often manipulate them into making us feel better. i’m trying to do less expecting and more feeling love/d all by myself, thus allowing other people be FREE to LOVE and understand me, or not. i can choose to love and understand others regardless of what they choose to do. grant that i may not so much seek to be loved as to love. let me ask not “will you be my valentine?” instead, let me say, “I am your valentine.”

Lord, make me an instrument of your peace;
where there is hatred, let me sow love;
where there is injury, your pardon Lord;
and where there’s doubt, true faith in you;
O Master,
grant that I may not so much seek to be consoled as to console;
to be understood, as to understand;
to be loved, as to love;
for it is in giving that we receive,
it is in pardoning that we are pardoned,
and it is in dying that we are born to Eternal Life.
~ st francis of assisi
About hillarah

my dad gave me my first camera in high school, a sturdy black minolta. i found my gift, my voice, my way to be with the world. after journalism school, i swashbuckled as a photojournalist for over a decade. moved home to norcal to be near family and started a boutique stock photography agency, see jane run. life had other plans. my camera lived mostly in the closet for nine years. last summer working on a film in france and spain, my camera became my friend again. and now, it's like rekindling a long-lost love. now with more wisdom, more freedom. pure joy.
This entry was posted in love, spirituality. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to i am your valentine (hill)

  1. Val says:

    I love this sentiment about the freedom to love and be loved without grasping.

Leave a Reply

