sugar magnolia (hill)

magnificent magnolias. majestic magnolias. marvelous magnolias. merry magnolias. you get the idea. my neighborhood is bursting with magnolia blooms, and i see so many varieties on our daily dogwalks. and every time, they make me think of another beloved roommate of meg’s and mine, laura. she and her hubbie’s first dance at their wedding 20 years ago was … sugar magnolia by the greatful dead. laura is the most straighlaced deadhead you’ll ever meet, even nerdy in high school (you said so yourself, laurs!). so as i wander around, inhaling the saturated magnolia fuschias, pinks, and whites, and gaze at their beauty, i think of laura and hum along to myself and sometimes even out loud to daisey. this one’s for you, laurs:

Sugar magnolia, blossoms blooming, head’s all empty and I don’t care,

Saw my baby down by the river, knew she’d have to come up soon for air.

Sweet blossom come on, under the willow, we can have high times if you’ll abide
We can discover the wonders of nature, rolling in the rushes down by the riverside.

She’s got everything delightful, she’s got everything I need,
Takes the wheel when I’m seeing double, pays my ticket when I speed.

Well, she comes skimmin’ through rays of violet, she can wade in a drop of dew,
She don’t come and I don’t follow, waits backstage while I sing to you.

Well, she can dance a Cajun rhythm, jump like a Willy’s in four wheel drive.
She’s a summer love in the spring, fall and winter. She can make happy any man alive.

Sugar magnolia, ringing that bluebell, caught up in sunlight, come on out singing
I’ll walk you in the sunshine, come on honey, come along with me.

She’s got everything delightful, she’s got everything I need,
A breeze in the pines in the summer night moonlight, crazy in the sunlight yes indeed.

Sometimes when the cuckoo’s crying, when the moon is half way down,
Sometimes when the night is dying, I take me out and I wander around, I wander ’round.

Sunshine, daydream, walking in the tall trees, going where the wind goes
Blooming like a red rose, breathing more freely,
Light out singin’, I’ll walk you in the morning sunshine
Sunshine, daydream. Sunshine, daydream. Walking in the sunshine.

     e---------------------2--x------------------------------|
     a---------------------3--2------------------------------|
     d--1/2--1/2-----------2--2--1/2--1/2--------------------|
     g--1/2--1/2-----2--4--4--2--1/2--1/2--------2-----------|
     b------------4--------0--0------------2--4-----4--2--0--|
     E---------------------x--x------------------------------|
                      ~ by the grateful dead
About hillarah

my dad gave me my first camera in high school, a sturdy black minolta. i found my gift, my voice, my way to be with the world. after journalism school, i swashbuckled as a photojournalist for over a decade. moved home to norcal to be near family and started a boutique stock photography agency, see jane run. life had other plans. my camera lived mostly in the closet for nine years. last summer working on a film in france and spain, my camera became my friend again. and now, it's like rekindling a long-lost love. now with more wisdom, more freedom. pure joy.
This entry was posted in friends, love, music, nature, walking miss daisey. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to sugar magnolia (hill)

  1. Ted Englehorn says:

    Hi from Laura’s dad. You gals have a wonderful relationship which has lasted a lot of years. I guess only a nerd would take her mother to the Dead’s last Portland concert.(I had to stay home to babysit) I remember that first dance. In fact I paid for it—–good investment. Ted

  2. hill says:

    and i’ve known you for many years, too, ted, and it has truly been a pleasure!

  3. Meg says:

    I don’t know if this will auto notify you Ted, but did you recognize the hands in the picture of the tomatoes on the online store? They’re Laura’s. When Hill showed me the photo I knew instantly whose hands they were. Just one more benefit of 30 years of friendship I guess!

  4. I didn’t recognize the hands but Laura told me about the tomatoes. Thanks Hillary, and I’ll never forget the nights we spent together in Yosemite !

  5. hill says:

    you mean the nights all four of us spent in yosemite, right???!!! with your daughter and your wife!!!!! me too, that was a magnificent trip, so much fun! yosemite high sierra camps = good livin’!

Leave a Reply

