i love my accountant, but he doesn’t love me (hill)

it is april 3rd … have you done your taxes yet? i want to know; i’m taking a poll. i wonder what percentage of people get them done in january? february? march? and how many of us inevitably wait until april rolls around? and how many do them after april 15th?  i know, i know, i have not done my taxes yet. but i will get them done today! (or tomorrow! or maybe into next week! but i’ll for sure get them done by april 10! i think the latest i ever went was april 13th. or 14th.) my accountant is a very nice man, and a great accountant. and he usually calls me in february reminding me to get my taxes done early. for naught. he didn’t even call this year; maybe he’s given up on me. every year i tell myself i’m going to get them done early, by end feb, just for his sake, just to help ease his pain, his april pain. but somehow it never happens. doing my taxes — hell, i don’t even really DO my taxes, i just fill out the tax organizer paperwork so he can actually prepare the taxes — doesn’t even actually take that long, when i sit down to it. two, maybe three hours. and i have a much clearer financial picture, which is actually a small comfort and joy. it’s just the IDEA of doing taxes that i loathe. this is the crux of procrastinators, which is such a loaded term, with such a negative, bad person spin, so let’s just call us ‘laterbirds.’ some people are born with a proclivity of earlybirdness; they arrive 10 minutes early, always. i was born with the opposite proclivity: i arrive 10 minutes late. and i’m going to do my taxes … right after this cup of tea. what about you?

About hillarah

my dad gave me my first camera in high school, a sturdy black minolta. i found my gift, my voice, my way to be with the world. after journalism school, i swashbuckled as a photojournalist for over a decade. moved home to norcal to be near family and started a boutique stock photography agency, see jane run. life had other plans. my camera lived mostly in the closet for nine years. last summer working on a film in france and spain, my camera became my friend again. and now, it's like rekindling a long-lost love. now with more wisdom, more freedom. pure joy.
This entry was posted in love, money. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to i love my accountant, but he doesn’t love me (hill)

  1. Sue Cable says:

    not surprising to you….but I start mine January and had them in to my accountant in March.

  2. hill says:

    not surprising at all. you’re one of THOSE, 10 minutes early types … i love you anyway! lol.

  3. Denis says:

    Now who says I don’t love you?
    Unfortunately I have learned that no matter how much I beg and plead the procrastinators to get their stuff in early…they don’t.
    I call all of my clients that wait to the last minute my “tax dysfunctional” clients.
    They are, at least around taxes…dysfunctional.
    You Hillary ARE one of my tax dysfunctional clients…
    Get your stuff in here as soon as you can…PLEASE.

  4. hill says:

    ok, ok, i’m on page 9, working away, will try not to get distracted! am thinking of you, will get it to you asap. i’m sorry to be one of your dfl clients. will try to come to the other team next year!

  5. Michael says:

    I owe taxes and had them completed a couple weeks ago. Will mail them early next week.

  6. Jodi says:

    being a freelance worker- I do not ever get ALL my forms til mid February- but by then have already emailed my Quicken file to the accountant and have already by then filled out his handbook- I make an appt w/ the accountant do my taxes the moment I get that last form- I want it behind me as soon as possible

  7. hill says:

    good job! you guys are soooooo goooooooood for inspiration! i’m on page 18 now … but i keep getting distracted!

Leave a Reply

