Mother’s Day (Meg)

I’ve been meaning to write about my mom for a long time but, as it probably is for most people, my relationship with my mother is so complex, so varied, and so intimate to me that it’s almost impossible to step back and look at with clear eyes. One thing I know is that our relationship has undergone a radical shift in the past 10 years. As she ages, I take over more of the stereotypical parenting roles, and she becomes more child-like, although she’s very sensitive to any attempt to do too much. So it’s extra interesting that Hillary had to remind me today, as we were discussing the upcoming holiday, that I am a mother too. I’m pretty sure that for the rest of my life, when I think of Mother’s Day, I’ll first think of my mom, and not myself. And so I’m attempting to plan for the day, to celebrate the day, to help my mom enjoy the day to the fullest. The problem is that I have no idea what to do! Give me some ideas people, and I’ll give you something back!

Give away: Before noon on Thursday, April 29th, 2010, leave a short comment telling us how you’re celebrating or honoring your mom and you might be the lucky randomly selected person who wins a free eyechai greeting card set or print (your choice).

And just in case that celebration involves some gift giving, over at eyechai.bigcartel.com we’re able to take greeting card and print orders for Mother’s Day gift delivery (domestic only) until Sunday, May 2 at noon.

This entry was posted in family, love, our online card store. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Mother’s Day (Meg)

  1. Mimi says:

    For mother’s day, I’m hoping she’ll be visiting at my home. I plan to have her grandchildren (3 and 4 years old) take her breakfast in bed. By the time we get that mess cleaned up, it’ll be a reasonable hour to head to my sister’s house for a well-planned and executed Mother’s Day Lunch – complete with champagne! And then can anyone say nap time?

  2. Mary says:

    Hey Meg,

    Nice site! How about a walk with your mom: ocean beach and food and/or drink at Beach Chalet; San Pedro Valley? Would she like something like matinee of Beach Blanket Babylon or even a movie if the weather isn’t good? What about a meal at your house with your fam? I’m thinking these are things I would’ve attempted with my mom. She loved being outside and was entertained by my kids shenanigans.

    Best Wishes with all your endeavors 🙂

  3. Laura says:

    I would love to spend the day with my Mom but distance does not allow. This day has become for me a good time to do what I want and the family has to defer. So this year I am running a 10K called “Hippie Chick” at Champoeg Park with some friends. Sound fun? I can hardly wait.
    I, of course, will be motivated along the way by my mother, my best example, my rock. If she can do what she is doing – running 10K is nothing.
    I think you should play some word game with your mom – you two are the biggest “wordies” I know. Put sticky notes on objects around the house and make up funny names for them?
    Have fun.

  4. Cynthia Brown says:

    My Mum, bless her soul, is pushing on to the beautiful Magnetic Island off the North Eastern coast of Australia, with my Dad for 6 days, encompassing Mothers Day. So a phone call will suffice this year when the day comes around. Mothers Day I will spend with my nephews mother – my sister-in-law. We will cook and chat and eat and ponder the world, and to liven things up, we’ll probably ride dirt bikes! Thank god for our amazing mothers. Couldn’t have done without mine in the last 12 months……

  5. mark schatz says:

    hi meg, i’m hillary’s cousin. anyways, sadly, my mom is gone. BUT, my wife, amy peele and i are going to chicago to spend the weekend with her mom, aged 84. amy wrote a memoir book called Aunt Mary’s Guide to Raising Children the Old Fashioned Way, and she’s doing a reading from it to honor her mom at a bookstore in chicago on mother’s day afternoon. since the book is a memoir, her mom plays a huge role in the stories, most of which are funny, but some of which are pretty sobering. anyways, i think it will be a beautiful tribute, and 2 of her other sibs, plus assorted other relatives and friends will be there.
    happy mom’s day to you and your mom too, and we’ll be seeing hill next week when she gets back.
    if you want to check out amy’s book, go to http://www.amypeele.com – i’m very proud of her for this.

  6. Meg says:

    Thanks for everyone’s incredibly sweet responses! We have a winner and are just waiting for permission to let you know who it is. Happy Mother’s day and love to you all, whether with or without your mom, or with or without your kids.

Leave a Reply

